It’s Press Day, Charlie Brown!

Blake Scott Ball
2 min readMar 22, 2021

Spring is in the air, the Easter Beagle is on his way, and Charlie Brown’s America is coming soon!!

My new book, Charlie Brown’s America, comes out May 4th and is available for pre-order NOW!!!

In fact, the lastest news is that the book hits the printing press TODAY!!! So that means your pre-ordered copy (get yours HERE or HERE or HERE) of Charlie Brown’s America is coming into the world TODAY!!!

You are absolutely going to love this book, I just know it. In addition to all the different topics (the Cold War, the Civil Rights Movement, the Vietnam War, feminism, environmentalism, Christian evangelicalism, and more) and characters covered, you’ll also find 40 large images of Peanuts strips as well as behind the scenes photos and early Schulz drawings throughout the text. It is a beautiful book and I’m really proud of how it came together.

Because of today’s events, I decided I would dive into the wonderful world of book printing and find out how a book is made (very Mister Rogers, I know). So if you’re curious like me, here’s a great video that gives some sense as to the work that goes into printing a hardback book.

Now, for those that have moved beyond the world of traditional books (no judgment here!), you’ll be happy to know that you can also pick a copy of Charlie Brown’s America on your e-reader (Kindle and others) or in audiobook format. I’ll share more details on the audiobook development and release soon.

I’ll also be updating you soon about how to get your copy autographed and even where you can meet me at some live events this summer! I so look forward to hearing what you think and discussing Peanuts and pop culture together.

Stay well, stay safe, and I’ll talk to you again very soon.

— BB

--

--

Blake Scott Ball

Blake Scott Ball is Assistant Professor of History at Huntingdon College. He is the author of Charlie Brown’s America (Oxford University Press, 2021).